ABCF Victoria held its 2023 Annual General Meeting last week, with unanimous support for all three motions: approval of the 2022 AGM minutes, receipt of the President’s Report, and receipt of the Treasurer’s FY 2022/2023 financial report.

Participants also were treated to the NewGen marketing proposal video (see here) and the unique video on the history of radio (see here).

The AGM would have been a disappointment to people who like contested elections. The full Committee of Management of 2023 were all re-elected for 2024.

  • Bill Condon
  • Philip Corser
  • Pamela Creed
  • Michael Henry
  • Peter Monie
  • Gai Mooney
  • Colin Neave
  • Anne-Maree Newbold
  • Rosie Spear
  • Sarah Stephen
  • Carol Stuart

The office bearers and the specific roles of Committee members will be determined at the first meeting of the new (old) Committee on 13 December. We hope to post short bios of Committee members on the ABCF Victoria website in January.

There were two new Life Members of ABCF Victoria appointed at the 2023 AGM – Gael Barrett and Leonie Millar. As the small plaque indicates the award is “in recognition of exemplary service to ABC Friends over a significant period of time”. Both have served at various levels of ABC Friends for many years and we are delighted to be able to thank them for their service in this way.

Gael Barrett

  • Long serving member of the Victorian Committee of Friends of the ABC
  • Acting President at various times between 2002 and 2012
  • President from 2013 to 2015
  • Consummate letter writer
  • Convenor of Boroondara Local Group
  • Passionate and resolute campaigner for the ABC

Leonie Millar

  • Long serving member of the Victorian Committee of Friends of the ABC
  • Played a key role in setting up and managing the office in South Melbourne
  • Elected Secretary in 2016, and guided the election campaign that year
  • Dogged and effective in fundraising and following up lapsed members
  • Elected Vice President in 2017 and Acting President as needed
  • Played a major role in organising the Melbourne Town Hall rally in 2018